Most African countries today are ruled by presidents. Some have notorious profiles as tyrants, while others enjoy respect as democrats. This compilation of brief overviews of their careers shows who’s who. ALGERIA: Abdelaziz Bouteflika (b 1937) in Oujda, he joined the military wing of the National Liberation Front (FLN) in 1957. He became youth minister […]

You have read all of your free articles,

to continue reading simply register to claim your complimentary three-day all-access pass.

You can claim your complimentary all-access pass and choose newsletters to receive by email.

Subscribe for full access to all our content and choose newsletters to receive by email.

We hope you enjoyed your complimentary access.

Stay informed on issues that matter most to you.

Become a subscriber today!

Already have an account? Sign In